Follow us on Facebook and win a GoPRO Hero3!

ATTENTION: Like MotorGLITCH on Facebook and you could win a GoPRO Hero 3!!


Thursday, July 11, 2013

Tale of two Street Circuits *UPDATED*

This weekend we have two different categories of racing both running on different street circuit's, on different parts of the globe. While that might sound and look like a lot of difference's, There actually quite similar. Click on to read more

Indy car is a open-wheel spec series, featuring TTV6 engines from +Chevrolet and +Honda and Dallara chassis. DTM might look like production based racing, but it's not. DTM is what Formula 1 /Indy car would look if they were front-engined and had body's, There not real street cars. They do have awesome 5.0L V8 engines and Cars from +BMW+Mercedes-Benz and +Audi Motorsport though. So in many aspects there really quite similar to each other.

Now back to the main topic, Both of these series are running on street circuits this weekend. What makes this unique is a street circuit is quite literally a public road turned into a race track. Just look at the closest road to you and imagine it lined with fences and stands with race car's flying down it at high speeds, it's quite a spectacle.

Now some history, The Toronto GP (indy car) Toronto, Canada started in 1986 as a Champ Car world series event and stayed that way until 2007 when Champ Car and the Indy racing league were merged together. The 1.7 mile circuit is extremely bumpy and very, very tight, Which as you can imagine leads to some entertainment. The Norisring (DTM) was first held in 1947 by numerous different racing series in many different configurations. Today's configuration is a shorter 1.4 mile circuit that's mainly straights with the occasional hairpin corner. If you don't get out of those hairpins smoothly, your day will end very quickly.

 Here's so more pictures of the two circuits, And links to the races.
Indy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RS_xrrszlxU&feature=c4-overview&list=UUNSr3W68RWBHMRgX5V7ExVw
DTM: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2JJBPmcjZsw&feature=c4-overview-vl&list=PLrjmhNF7Jz1wEizzlk8zRkAlk3yC8rND5

Indycar Car Race 1:

Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda 
Sebastien Bourdais Dragon Racing Chevrolet 
 Marco Andretti Dr Pepper Chevrolet 
 Tony Kanaan Hydroxycut KVRT-SH Racing Chevrolet 
 Helio Castroneves Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet 
 Mike Conway Sonny's Honda  
 James Hinchcliffe GoDaddy Chevrolet 
 Simon Pagenaud Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports Honda
 Simona De Silvestro Nuclear Entergy Areva KVRT Chevrolet 
 Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda 
 James Jakes Acorn Stairlifts Honda 
 Ed Carpenter Fuzzy's Vodka/Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 
EJ Viso Team Venezuela PDVSA Citgo Chevrolet 
 Will Power Verizon Team Penske 
 Sebastian Saavedra Dragon Racing Chevrolet 
 Alex Tagliani Barracuda Racing Honda
 Ryan Hunter-Reay DHL Chevrolet 
 Tristan Vautier (R) Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda 
 Graham Rahal Midas/Big O Tires Honda 
 Charlie Kimball NovoRapid FlexTouch Honda 
Ryan Briscoe National Guard Panther Racing Chevrolet 
 Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda 
 Takuma Sato ABC Supply Co./A.J. Foyt Racing Honda 

 Mattias Ekström Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS 5 
 Robert Wickens STIHL Mercedes AMG Mercedes C-Coupé 12 
 Christian Vietoris Mercedes AMG-Team Mercedes C-Coupé 12 
 Daniel Juncadella stern Mercedes AMG Mercedes C-Coupé 12 
 Mike Rockenfeller Audi Sport Team Phoenix Audi RS 5 
 Bruno Spengler BMW Team Schnitzer BMW M3 
 Robert Merhi THOMAS SABO Mercedes AMG Mercedes C-Coupé 12 
 Joey Hand BMW Team RBM BMW M3 
 Andy Priaulx BMW Team RMG BMW M3 
 Marco Wittmann BMW Team MTEK BMW M3 

 Dirk Werner BMW Team Schnitzer BMW M3 
 Filipe Albuquerque Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS 5 
 Timo Glock BMW Team MTEK BMW M3 
Miguel Molina Audi Sport Team Phoenix Audi RS 5 
 Adrien Tambay Audi Sport Team Abt Audi RS 5 
 Augusto Farfus Jr. BMW Team RBM BMW M3 
 Mortara Audi Sport Team Rosberg Audi RS 5
 Gary Paffett EURONICS Mercedes AMG Mercedes C-Coupé 12 
 Jamie Green Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline Audi RS 5 
Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes AMG Mercedes C-Coupé 12